Neither carrier's own page states a price without a weight, a destination and an account already entered.
Why there is no single price to quote
SMKlog's checkout now sells international labels on four lanes — Canada, the UK, Germany, Australia — and both of these carriers appear in its live results: UPS on several lanes, DHL Express where the lane offers it. Those numbers live in the quote, which is one reason no dollar figure appears on this page. The other reason is that neither carrier prints one either: UPS's own international services page states delivery timing with no prices attached, and DHL states plainly that a shipper without an account is priced from its Express Service and Rate Guide while an account holder is priced differently again. A published comparison chart would be comparing two moving targets against each other.
What both carriers do publish, and what actually decides which one fits a shipment, is transit wording, account mechanics, chargeable weight rules and the surcharges layered on top. That is the whole subject of this page.
Transit tiers, in each carrier's own words
UPS breaks its international network into named tiers with a delivery-hour claim attached to each. DHL runs its flagship product, Express Worldwide, as one time-definite service rather than a ladder of named speeds on its main pages.
| Carrier and service | What the carrier states |
|---|---|
| UPS Worldwide Express | Filed under UPS's 1-3 business days heading, “Typically delivered by 10:30 a.m. or noon” |
| UPS Worldwide Saver | Filed under the same 1-3 business days heading, “Typically delivered by end of day” |
| UPS Worldwide Expedited | “2-5 business days, typically delivered by end of day” |
| UPS Worldwide Economy | 5-8 days with shipper-paid duty, 5-12 days with receiver-paid duty, on UPS's own Worldwide Economy page |
| DHL Express Worldwide | “Most international shipments arrive by the next possible business day” |
Read plainly, DHL's headline commitment sits closest to UPS's fastest tier, Worldwide Express, rather than to the Saver or Expedited products most small sellers actually book. DHL's own pages describe Express Worldwide as its one flagship international product; the multiple named UPS tiers exist because UPS deliberately splits speed into priced steps that DHL's main pages do not show in the same way.
Account or no account, on both networks
Shipping without an account is possible on both carriers, and both carriers price that shipper differently from an account holder.
| Question | UPS | DHL |
|---|---|---|
| Duty default with no account | “If you do not have a UPS payment account and are simply paying with a credit card, the shipment will default to DDU” — the receiver pays | Not addressed the same way; DHL's split is on the rate itself, not the duty payer |
| Pricing with no account | Not stated as a separate rate card on the page read for this comparison | “Without an account, rates as published in the DHL Express Service and Rate Guide apply” |
| What an account unlocks | A payment account changes the duty default and adds UPS's own online tools | “Preferred pricing and online import and export tools” |
| Every shipment now cleared | Effective August 29, 2025, all shipments must clear US Customs and Border Protection regardless of value | Not stated on the pages read for this comparison; DHL's own customs process runs on every dutiable export regardless |
The practical shape is the same on both: a one-off shipper without an account pays a published, less favorable rate and risks the recipient getting billed at the door. A business with an account on either carrier gets a better number and more control over who owes what.
How the box itself gets weighed
DHL states its rule outright on its own beginner's page: “Shipping charges are based on the greater of the shipment's actual weight or volumetric weight.” UPS does not state its dimensional-weight formula on the general pages read for this comparison, but UPS bills a dimensional weight it calculates from a package's length, width and height on international shipments exactly as it does domestically, so a large light box is billed heavier than the scale shows on both networks.
UPS's ceiling
UPS states packages up to 150 lbs, 108 in in length, and 165 in combining length and girth, on its shipping dimensions and weight page. No exception is stated for international shipments.
DHL's ceiling
DHL's own heavy-items page states a per-piece weight of “up to 150 lbs. depending on service and destination” and a per-piece dimension guide of 48 x 32 x 32 in for a standard, non-palletized shipment.
The real difference
UPS's ceiling is one fixed number. DHL's own wording ties its ceiling to the service and the destination, meaning the true limit on a given lane can sit below 150 lbs and is worth confirming before a heavy box is booked.
What each one bolts on top of the base rate
Neither carrier's headline rate is the whole invoice. Both publish named add-ons, and the two lists do not overlap much.
| Carrier | Named charge | What UPS or DHL states |
|---|---|---|
| UPS | Disbursement Fee | 2.5% of duties and taxes UPS pays or processes on the shipper's behalf, minimum 17.50 USD, effective September 7, 2026 |
| UPS | Entry-Line Charge | 3.50 USD per customs line after the first five lines, effective September 7, 2026 |
| UPS | International Extended Area Surcharge | Applies to some international origins and destinations; UPS publishes the amounts in a separate downloadable surcharge listing rather than on the page itself |
| DHL | Fuel, export | 32.25 percent, added to the weight charge on every outbound shipment this week |
| DHL | Remote area | 50 USD, or 0.50 USD per lb if that comes to more |
| DHL | Address correction | 25.50 USD for an incomplete, outdated or incorrect destination address |
The shapes differ more than the totals. UPS's stack leans on customs handling — a percentage of the duty itself, plus a per-line charge on a complicated declaration. DHL's stack leans on the shipment's own mechanics — a fuel percentage that resets weekly on every single shipment, plus flat fees for problems at the address end. A simple, correctly addressed parcel with a short customs description sidesteps most of UPS's list; it cannot sidestep DHL's fuel line, since that one applies regardless.
Where each one actually fits
UPS into Canada and Mexico
UPS Standard is a day-definite, ground-style product that from a US origin runs to those two borders, 2 to 7 business days with Saturday delivery available in most regions — a lane shape DHL's Express-only network does not publish an equivalent for.
DHL outside North America
DHL states reach to over 220 countries and territories with one flagship air product moving most shipments by the next possible business day, which is where DHL's own marketing and its customs-handling process concentrate.
UPS's tiered menu
UPS's own page splits international speed into five to nine named products depending on the route, which suits a shipper who wants to trade a specific number of days for a specific price band, once an account is priced against the destination.
Neither ranking is absolute — both carriers serve most of the same countries, and the actual number for a given box only comes out of each carrier's own account-priced quote tool. This page states what each one publishes about itself; it does not pick a winner for a shipment it cannot price.
What we can price, and what we cannot
SMKlog's checkout sells US domestic parcel labels and border crossings to Canada, the UK, Germany and Australia, and its live comparison can show a UPS rate and a DHL Express rate side by side where a lane returns both. Any other international leg is booked with the carrier directly, while the calculator still prices the domestic run on either side of a border — to a forwarder's warehouse, a consolidator, or a return address inside the country.
Where these figures come from
- UPS, International Shipping Services — the named tiers and their delivery wording. Read 2026-08-30.
- UPS, Understanding Customs — the DDP/DDU terms, the credit-card default, the August 29, 2025 rule. Read 2026-08-30.
- UPS, Shipping Costs and Rates — the Disbursement Fee and Entry-Line Charge amounts. Read 2026-08-30.
- UPS, Shipping Dimensions and Weight — the 150 lb, 108 in, 165 in ceilings. Read 2026-08-30.
- UPS, UPS Worldwide Economy — the over-200-countries claim and the 5-8/5-12 day figures. Read 2026-08-30.
- DHL, DHL Express — the 220 countries and territories claim and the next-possible-business-day wording. Read 2026-08-30.
- DHL, Basics of international shipping — the account vs no-account pricing split and the chargeable-weight rule. Read 2026-08-30.
- DHL, Shipping Heavy Items — the per-piece weight and dimension figures. Read 2026-08-30.
- DHL Express, Surcharges, United States — the fuel, remote area and address correction figures, from the listing DHL last updated July 20, 2026 for an August 3, 2026 effective date; this page read it 2026-08-30.
Both carriers revise these pages, and DHL's fuel percentage specifically, on their own schedules with no announcement. Treat every figure above as what each site stated on the date shown, and pull a live account quote from the carrier before booking.
UPS against DHL, asked plainly
Is UPS or DHL cheaper for an international package?
Neither carrier publishes a flat price for either network on its own website, so no single figure can be printed here honestly — the live rates this site sells on its four international lanes exist only per box, per day. Both carriers price by account status, chargeable weight and destination zone, which is the same reason UPS and DHL cannot be reduced to one number even on the carriers' own pages.
Does DHL or UPS reach more countries?
DHL states its Express network reaches over 220 countries and territories. UPS's own coverage claim is narrower and tied to a specific product: over 200 countries for UPS Worldwide Economy. Both figures were read from the carriers' own pages on 2026-08-30.
Do I need an account to ship with UPS or DHL internationally?
No, but the price changes without one on both. UPS defaults a credit-card shipment with no account to Delivery Duty Unpaid. DHL states that without an account, rates from its published Express Service and Rate Guide apply, while an account unlocks preferred pricing and online tools.
Which carrier is better for shipping to Canada or Mexico specifically?
UPS is the one built for that lane. It runs UPS Standard, a day-definite ground-style cross-border service — from a US origin, Canada or Mexico — alongside its air tiers. DHL's own pages describe an air, time-definite network with no equivalent domestic-style ground product for those two borders.
Can I buy a UPS or DHL international label through SMKlog?
On four lanes, yes: checkout sells labels to Canada, the UK, Germany and Australia, with UPS and — where the lane offers it — DHL Express among the live results and the customs declaration completed before payment. A box leaving for any other country is booked with UPS or DHL directly, or its domestic leg to a forwarder is priced through our calculator instead.